Someone to Watch Over Me

by Cookie

little-kid-and-backpack-too-big-LR-284x385
I’m pretty sure that it’s because of the terrible events that transpired in Connecticut this weekend, but I seem to have lost my sense of humor.

So, instead, I want to tell you about a little boy who lives in my neighborhood. I don’t know him or his family, or even his name. I call him the Big Bag Baby (BBB)

Every weekday morning for the past 4 years or so, I have seen this child walk up the bay across from my street and wait for his school bus. His backpack is enormous; I hardly know how he can carry it. It’s literally about one third the size of his little body. And it’s completely adorable. Every year, I think that this will be the year his bag shrinks and looks more manageable, but the backpacks seem to grow with him. It’s like it’s part of him.

Anyway, unbeknownst to him or his parents, I have watched the BBB every morning and made sure that he gets on his bus safely each morning. When a car approached him one day, I watched to make sure it was his parents. The other day he had apparently flung himself on the snowbank, and I seriously thought he had been hit by a car or something. Turns out he was ok.

The point is, I cared. This child that is a stranger to me has a silent guardian he will never know about. And especially now, as a parent myself, I hope I am not the only girl watching out her kitchen window in the morning. The problem with todays world is that we are too silent sometimes, and the bad guys cause a whole lot more noise.

But we’re here, silently making the world a better place, one weekday moment at a time. I hope.

