A Christmas Rant

by Cookie

NoChristmasTree1

When I was a little girl and I used to complain that my brother was bugging me, my Dad had a wise and simple solution:  Don’t be so bugable.

When did the human race become so good at being offended?  And how come you all aren’t listening to my Dad?  He’s the smartest, you know.

Let’s take Christmas, for example.  Apparently, people get offended if you acknowledge the Christmas season.  If you say Merry Christmas, you might offend someone.  If you sing a Christmas carol at a school concert, you might offend someone.  I call bullshit.  Those same people that get all hot on the tits about being wished well in the form of  “Merry Christmas” aren’t offended by the extra money their business makes this time of year.  Or the stat pay on their paychecks.  Or the extra time off this time of year.  But if you say why they get all those things, they might form some sort of action group to have the word Christmas stricken from the land.

What is the problem with Canadians celebrating and acknowledging part of the very culture the country was built on?  Whether we want to admit it or not, the people that founded this country as we know it were Christians, and they celebrated Christmas.

If someone said “Happy Chanuka” to me, I certainly wouldn’t get all pissy.  They are wishing me well according to the culture they identify with.  And I appreciate the sentiment.

And let’s face it kids, most people don’t even give a rats ass about Jesus anyway.  People in North America worship Santa and the presents under the tree.  We worry most about what we’re getting and giving this holiday season more than appreciating the things we have and the people in our lives.  My husband and I have stopped exchanging gifts.  Instead, we set aside an entire day to spend together as a couple, doing something we just haven’t had time to do in the busy thing we call life with a baby.  And when she is old enough to understand, this will be part of her tradition as well.

Because you know what? After a day or two, she won’t care about the billion dollars worth of toys she just got.  She be back to climbing me like a jungle gym, and singing with me, and helping me rearrange the spice cupboard while I cook.  Because things can never replace time.

I want to teach my daughter to respect other people’s cultures and traditions, but to hold dear and stand up for hers as well.  And that includes saying  “Merry Christmas” freely.  That includes knowing that Christmas should be more about family and love and all the things that JESUS, not SANTA, tried to teach us so long ago, and not about presents under the tree.

And if that is offensive to anyone, I’ll just teach her to say:  “Don’t be so bugable”.

images

