Hot On The Titties Friday: To Spank Or Not To Spank

by Cookie

spanking

Good Morning , kids!  How are your titties feeling this morning?  Nice and hot?  Good, because it’s Friday!  Hot on the Titties Friday that is, and today’s topic will not disappoint.

Now that I have begun this adventure called parenthood, and my firstborn is less of a baby and more of a little girl, she sometimes acts like a bit of an asshole.  For reals.  She puts her “ignoring hat”  or “I can’t hear you cap” on, and happily continues whatever behavior she was engaging in before I told her to stop.

So as she’s punching the flatscreen no matter how many times I say “don’t touch”, she has from time to time received a little tap on her well padded bottom to direct her another way.  She can’t actually feel the tap, but it gets her attention and she is then able to redirect herself.

That’s right, kids.  Today’s HOTTF is about spanking.  Have you ever, would you ever, have you considered it, and did your parents use spanking as a means of redirection or punishment?

Now again, for all you new to my blog, I am speaking about and from my experience, and you are welcome to believe whatever you will and raise your kids the way you feel is best.  I encourage you to disagree, and present your points in a grown up fashion.  Acting like an asshole or a troll will not be tolerated, kapeesh?

Here is my opinion:  I believe that spanking has it’s place.  And there is a huge difference between a beating and a spanking.  There is a huge difference between appropriate parental discipline and abuse.  NO question about that.

When I was a kid, my parents used to spank me.  And looking back, it was pretty effective.  The spanking itself was no big deal, but they were smart about how it played out.  It’s all in the anticipation.  I used to know I was going to get it if my dad would roll up the sleeves on his dress shirt when he would get home from work.  I would get sent to my room to wait it out.  That was the worst.  Having to sit there and think about being an asshole and then knowing I was going to answer for it.  I learned a lot of lessons pretty quickly.

My grandparents never laid a hand on me.  All they did was take the wooden spoon out of the drawer and silently lay it on the counter if I acted like a jerk.  That’s all it took, the mere suggestion of it.  They were in charge, and I believed them.

Now I know all the experts say that it teaches violence and all that, but I’m not a violent person at all.  I’ve only been in one fight ever.  And he broke into my car and then punched me in the face.  So I let him have it.  Spanking didn’t teach me how how to give a few right hooks to the jaw and drop a guy.  I mean, it’s not like I took the guy and put him over my knee for a few good swats.  Although that might have been even funnier than getting beat up by a girl.

Anyway, here is my theory:  Small children live in the now.  They literally do not have the ability to predict the outcome of their actions.  A tap on the hand before they touch the hot stove saves them from harm, and gives them something they can react to.  A tap on the bum when they are being naughty gives an immediate consequence to a current action.  There is not intent or infliction of pain, it is a way to react to an undesirable behavior in the child.  You can’t have a conversation with them at this point, the verbal skills do not exist.

Hey, it works with the dogs, right?  (For all you crazy people out there, that is a joke)  Everything I learned about parenting, I learned from Cesar Milan. (not a joke)

I also think that children need to have a healthy fear of their parents.  Not in a “threat of harm” way, but the way you have a healthy fear of your boss, let’s say.  They need to realize who’s driving.  There needs to be an uncrossable line between you and them that clearly makes you the boss of them.  They need to know this. Period.  You can all argue to the ends of the Earth about this with me, but I won’t budge.  I love my daughter more than my own life, and I will sacrifice moments of her being pissed as hell at me to keep her safe.  I love her enough to be tough when I need to be. To establish these boundaries now.  When kids know who is in charge, they feel safe.

Remember, the effectiveness of spanking in my opinion, lies in the anticipation of it.  If you are doing it right, the looming “threat’ of it should be enough to correct the behavior before it happens.

Before I turn the floor over to you, let me just say this:  If anyone besides me ever laid a hand on my kid, they would unleashing the crazy in me.  My sauce would seriously fucking boil over.  Because a parent is able to discipline out of love, while anyone else would be doing it solely out of anger and frustration.

And be careful as your tits burn up over this.  A “spanking” means a smack on the clothed bum, not a punch in the face.  Try to be nice in your debates.  Try not be extremists in your opinions.

Let’s hear it.

Happy Friday, bitches.

