Workplace Bitches… I Mean Bullies

by Cookie

Ahhhhhh!  Friday.  Not that means much to a self-employed musician, but it means something to all of you.  So happy weekend.

I was chatting briefly with a friend of mine yesterday and she mentioned to me that she was having some problems at work with some bitch in her office.  I didn’t get a chance to hear all of the details, but as soon as my friend decided to take on some new and more appealing job responsibilities this woman started to get her back up.  Essentially, my friend is being bullied.

I fucking hate hearing about shit like that.  Tits a blazing, let me tell you.

It’s been quite some time since I dwelled in the corporate world.  But one thing I remember about women in the workplace is that we are real bitches sometimes.   I remember observing that a lot of time women have trouble encouraging and enabling the success of another woman.  For some reason us girls feel threatened by another woman’s success rather than empowered by it.  We seem to feel that the only way to gain recognition for our own achievements is to squash the achievements of another woman.

Why can’t we both be good at what we do?  Why can’t we both be successful?  Why do woman have to let their own insecurities be the fault of some other bitch?

Do men feel like this?  If so, they are way less obvious about it.

The reason it makes me so angry is that us girls fought for how many years to be recognized and compensated equally to men in the workplace, and we still have to fight for that.  So instead of empowering one another, we act like catty bitches and give sexist fucks a reason to say “I told you so”.  We make ourselves look bad.  And that’s really stupid.

Do you remember the Spice Girls?  The whole “Girl Power” thing from the ’90’s?  We need some more of that.  Despite their cheesy exterior and completely produced music with maybe average talent, I fucking loved them.  I loved their message.  Embrace your differences and band together  to be the best you can be.  Instead of fighting amongst yourselves.

Cause when we decide to stop being bitches to one another, women are formidable.  Have you ever seen a pissed off Mommy Group?  They. Are. Crazy.  And effective.

Anyway, all speeches aside, how do you deal with workplace bullying?  What is the difference between workplace bullying and harassment?   I don’t think there is much of a difference.  Both lead to low productivity.  Both lead to low self-esteem.  Both lead to a breakdown of the team.  And both are unacceptable.  I think “bullying” is just a more effective term these days because it’s hot in the media.

If it’s true that bullies on the school playground stem from low self-confidence, then it would stand to reason that either this is leftover from childhood or bred by the same problems with confidence as adults.

So here’s the message, bitches:

Grow a pair.  Rise up based on hard work and meeting goals, and being an effective member of a team.  Be in competition with yourself, and you will find motivation there.  Don’t worry about Joe beside you, because he’s got his own shit to worry about.  Be a success based on the things that you achieve, not based on the failures of someone else.  Because being the winner of something is way sweeter when you earn it fair and square.

