Assholes Should Not Make Babies

by Cookie

dandandandaniel.deviantart.com

dandandandaniel.deviantart.com

I read this morning that Catelynn Lowell and Tyler Baltierra are having another baby.  You know, those asshole “fan favourites” from Teen Mom?   The article made me feel irritated.  Don’t get me wrong, I love babies.  I love pregnant people.  I wish that everyone could experience the love of a child.

But here’s the thing.  The tone of the article and the attitude of these people just rubs me the wrong fucking way.  So, you have a baby at 16 or whatever, and decide to give the baby up for adoption.  The parents graciously allow you to have contact and a relationship with the child.  Everybody wins, right?

That’s the way it’s supposed to be.  The problem I have with this show, and this big announcement is that is takes the life of a baby and makes it cheap.

The only contribution these kids have made to society is to get knocked up and document it on reality tv.  And you know what?  Kids make mistakes.  Shit happens.  But I can’t help but think that part of the reason this couple decided to have another baby was to get back in the news.  Because that’s their ticket, you know?  I can only assume that they are otherwise pretty much useless people.

One quick google search provided several articles that insinuate she got pregnant again so she could get back on the show that made her famous.

As a mother, I just can’t imagine how anybody could not feel the loss of giving up a child or the challenges of raising one.  Hell, I want to beat my own head against a wall half a million times a day raising two babies, and I’m a fucking grown up.

I just keep thinking about all the good people out there who can’t have kids and deserve them.  And can’t afford IVF or the fees associated with adoption. And yes, teenagers who get pregnant by accident and give the babies up sometimes help these couples, but the process and emotional ramifications of that are lifelong deals.  This bullshit makes it cheap.  It takes the heartache that some of those girls go through and makes it seem like no big deal.

Babies are hard work.  Their lives matter.  So Catelynn, no matter how “excited” you are about “keeping this baby”, get a goddamn grip.

If you have any reasonable amount of maturity in you at all, stay away from the cameras, and don’t turn your unborn child into a circus slideshow.  your job is to love and protect and provide.  And by provide, I mean get a job.  And by a job I mean you work and get a paycheck.  Not you get pregnant and sell your story to shit magazines.

Fucking people.

