Hot on The Titties: I Got Me E-Big-Bola Worry (A big bowl of worry)

by Cookie

commons.wikimedia.org

commons.wikimedia.org

So, I have to admit that I’ve been watching the news about the Ebola outbreak religiously.  I even have CNN on in the truck.  I fucking hate CNN, because it’s too sensationalized and downright retarded at times, but I can’t seem to step away.   Sometimes, on days I’m feeling a little more reasonable I’ll listen to BBC.  The British have a way of being a little less melodramatic and straightforward.  And a little less biased when it comes to their news reporting.  I think it’s all the tea they drink, keeps them grounded.

Nevertheless, no matter where you get the information from, the consensus is pretty much the same.  This shit is bad.  Someone in a big way dropped the ball big time.  Ebola is no fucking joke.  As far as ways to die go, it’s pretty much as horrible as it gets.

Ebola is like Super AIDS, I think.  Transmitted sorta the same way.  But it makes you ill within 3 weeks, acutely, with about a 50-50 chance of surviving these days.  I keep hearing how transmission is hard, because you have to have direct contact with bodily fluids.

Then we better all get on our fucking knees and pray this doesn’t get loose in the school system with all the tiny humans.  Because let me tell you about children and bodily fluids.  They ooze them out of every orifice at all times.  And then, we fucked, Bitches.

So, why is this a Hot on the Titties post, you ask?  Because I like Ebola and support it’s choices?  No.  I’ve been thinking a lot about those movies “Outbreak”  and Contagion”.  They always seem to end up with the army quarantining an entire town or city and threatening to nuke it or something.  So I’m wondering, how about it?

Now, relax, I’m not suggesting we blow up West Africa.  But I’m wondering why we are still allowing commercial flights in and out of there?  I read this morning that the US is planning to have advanced “screening” at 5 of it’s major airports to try and prevent more sick people from entering the US.

5 airports?  Does anyone really think this will help?  What a waste of time.  Also, in case the health authorities missed it, Ebola has an incubation period of up to 21 days.  So you could pass your screening if you fly into Chicago, but get sick the next day.  Or you know, you could fly in through Toronto and drive across the border.  Or stay in Canada and kill us all too.

Whichever.

We are much past the point of taking people’s temperatures at the airport, I think.  I think we are at a point where the borders to the “hot zone” become a one way street.  You go in at your own risk, and you don’t get to come out until this shit is under control.  The exception being perhaps health care workers who are placed in an “Ebola Purgatory” of sorts for 21 days post their last patient contact, until they are deemed free of the disease.

Obviously the disease is starting to spread to the rest of the world, because if it’s in the US and Europe, I would bet my next paycheck it is in other countries too.  Countries that also don’t have very stable health care systems.  Places where people don’t usually go to the doctor when they are sick. We just haven’t heard about it yet.

So what do you think?  Is it time to resort to a military enforced country quarantine?  Stop air travel to and from these countries?  Do you think all the troops stationed there are only there to build hospital beds?

I’m betting not.

Over to you, Bitches.

