Hot On The Titties Friday: Is Being An Asshole Now Grounds For Dismissal?

by Cookie

nrmedia.biz

nrmedia.biz

So it’s been a little while since we’ve done a Hot on the Titties Friday post, hasn’t it Bitches?

I believe I’ve found a hot topic for you today.  What I want to know is do you think that someone can be disciplined at work for something they do or say or write in social media?

There is a local story here in Winnipeg about a high school teacher who wrote some offensive, and potentially racist remarks towards Aboriginal people on Facebook.  This article is one that sums things up.

I’m not sure that whether his remarks are appropriate or not is actually the debate.  They weren’t.  I’m also not entirely sure that the man is a blazing racist who wants to bring harm to anybody, but his comments were insensitive and ignorant to a community of people who have been struggling for many generations.

Now here’s the thing.  He is currently “being reviewed” by the school where he teaches.  I’m not sure exactly what that entails.  He hasn’t committed a crime.  He hasn’t physically harmed anyone.  He has an opinion that is about as politically uncorrect as it comes and was stupid enough to put that opinion down where anybody can see it.

So my question is:  Does an employer have a right to analyze one’s social behavior and hold it against them in their professional life?  Does an employer have a right to dictate what I can and can’t do or say in my personal life?  Do they have a right to restrict or even comment on what I say on my Facebook page?

Has social media doomed us all?  You can’t have any fun or say anything tongue in cheek because someone might not like it and tattle to your boss?  Do we have to be “appropriate” at all times because there is always going to be someone who doesn’t like what you have to say?

It’s a tough call.  I mean, I don’t think a blatant racist is someone belongs in the classroom.  But it’s also difficult to know for sure what the intent is behind a written word because it is very open to different interpretations.

I personally say a lot of things on my social media page that some people might not like.  I say fuck a lot.  I joke about boobs and cocks and am downright dirty at times.  I say a lot of things that people are thinking but don’t have the balls to say themselves.  I am  a completely open book, and you can trust me to be honest even if you don’t like what I have to say.
Does that make me a bad person?  Maybe to some.  Does it make me a dirty whore?  Probably not.  The problem is, if you don’t know me, you are likely to make a lot of assumptions based on banter that means nothing.

So, what do you think, Bitches?  Should we be judged in the workplace for our behavior out of the workplace?  Free Speech doesn’t feel very free if you have to censor your words in fear of losing your job.  Crimes are illegal, but last time I checked being an asshole is not.  So if someone has great job performance, but is an asshole outside of work, is it now grounds to fire them?  Tell me what you think.

