My True Love

by Cookie

Seriously one of my favourite baby photos of Buddy ever.

Seriously one of my favourite baby photos of Buddy ever.

On this day, two years ago I met my true love.

We’d been corresponding for 9 months or so through a series of one sided conversations where he initially didn’t respond at all.  As we got to know each other better, he would move in response and let me know he heard me through a bunch a body movements or hiccups.

He like sweet things a lot so we went to Dairy Queen often.  You know what they say about love making you fat?  I must have loved him way more than you normally could love someone so early in a relationship.

I’d seen his pictures and thought he was very handsome, but they didn’t really do him justice.

So when I met him, at 1:35 am on July 3, I was overwhelmed with how beautiful he was and felt like my heart might just explode.  I loved him that much.  In an instant.  Forever.

And he loved me.  Like nobody ever has.

Now, two years later, he still loves me.  With all the grace and gentleness of a water buffalo, but I don’t care.  He doesn’t just kiss me, he wraps his arms around me so tight and squishes what feels like his entire essence into me.  He breaks everything in my house.  He twirls and pulls my hair at night, waking me up repeatedly, but I don’t care.

He tries my patience and throws tantrums and drives me up the fucking wall, but I don’t care about that either.

Because honestly, I can’t imagine ever loving anyone so hard and so much as I love him.

And now, two years later, after sweeping in and grabbing a hold of my heart so hard I see glimpses of what kind of child and man he will become.  A little boy who is full of so much joy, who loves to sing and run and play with everything that’s not a toy.  Who loves music and the Muppets and dinosaurs.

Happy Birthday to my Buddy.  Watching you grow up so fast has my heart in a knot, and I love you more than life itself.

