The One Who Changed Everything

by Cookie

11146108_10152848647936423_292695586952841826_n

4 years ago, everything changed.

After July 18 at 11:39 pm, everything I thought I knew about love tossed itself out the window.  That doesn’t mean that love didn’t exist before, but it took on a new meaning.  It changed forever.

When someone places your child in your arms for the first time, you finally know what it means to love something enough to be willing to die for it.  You finally know what it feels like to be selfless.  And that, to me, is what true love is.  Loving  someone so much that your needs always come second, and there is no sacrifice you wouldn’t make for them.

And that’s what happened to me 4 years ago today.  This little girl who now has long curly blond hair and giant grey-green eyes. Who loves birds and dogs and lizards.  She loves to go to the library and does gymnastics and remembers the words to every nursery rhyme and silly song every sung to her.  Her favourite superhero is Spiderman and she loves to watch documentaries about dinosaurs.

She does and says the most ridiculous things and I wouldn’t change anything about her for the world.  She steals the heart of everyone she meets with her empathetic heart and sweet smile.

I am so  lucky to have been chosen to be your mom.  You changed me.  You changed everything.  You’ll probably change the world someday.

I love you so so much.  I don’t think you’ll ever know.

Happy Birthday to my Twee Destroyer.  Please stop growing up so fast.

