Redefining Beauty

by Cookie

652px-Carrie_Fisher_2013

I’d say that 30 years has treated you well, ma’am.

So who’s seen Star Wars: The Force Awakens?  Millions of you, I’m sure.

Who amongst you thought: “God, I wish they could have done something about the way Princess Leia looks.  She looks way older!”?

If you did, I’d like to extend a giant “fuck you” for perpetuating an unreasonable standard that all women, not just Hollywood women but perhaps especially so, feel like they need to try and live up to.

Seriously, the last movie came out in 1985.  A whole new generation of Star Wars fans wasn’t even born yet.  Do you look the same you did 30 years ago?  You’ve gained about 150 pounds, gave up the good fashion sense your parents gave you and likely have some acne scarring.  So fuck off.

Of course, we should applaud Carrie Fisher for not really giving a fuck through her statement:

“Please stop debating about whetherOR not👁aged well.unfortunately it hurts all3 of my feelings.My BODY hasnt aged as well as I have.Blow us👌🏼

Her attitude is right on target.   As I approach 40 in the next couple of years, I’ve decided to embrace a few things about myself.

  1.  The clothes that I wore pre-babies are an unreasonable goal.  Whatever the scale says, my body is different and those things aren’t as comfortable or as flattering as they used to be.  And it’s time to let it go.
  2. Ageing is something we should be proud of.  If I think about all the shit I didn’t know in my twenties and all the shit I know now, I don’t think I could even have a meaningful conversation with myself 20 years ago. Yeah.  Maybe our brains get bigger alongside our asses.  Food for thought.
  3. Other people’s opinions about my appearance are really just their own insecurities manifesting themselves elsewhere.  And I have enough of my own bullshit to deal with so take your shit to another universe.

Carrie Fisher goes on to say “We treat beauty like an accomplishment and that is insane. “

Because seriously, anybody can go on a diet, or have some surgery done, or buy false eyelashes or get their hair dyed.

And Bitches, I am not against any of those things.  As long as you’re doing it because that’s what makes you feel beautiful, and not because there is some lame standard definition of what beauty is.

Anyway, Carrie Fisher.  I love what 30 years has done to your brain.  It is sexy as hell.

 

 

