World Breastfeeding Week?

by Cookie

www3.sainsburys.co.uk  This is OK too, you know.

www3.sainsburys.co.uk
This is OK too, you know.

Did you know that it’s World Breastfeeding Week?

I have a little bit of a rant about this.  Maybe it’s because I wasn’t able to breastfeed either of my babies, despite my efforts.  Maybe it’s because I feel like we don’t high five the girls out there who give up on it because at some point it becomes more about the mom and not about a thriving child.

Don’t get me wrong.  I wish I could have breastfed.  In fact, I tried like hell this time around.  Everything short of attaching myself to a milking machine.  Some people probably think I didn’t try everything then, and shame on me.  But you know what?  I have a toddler to care for as well as a newborn.  My husband works long shifts.  And at some point, I refused to cut off my nose to spite my face.

Here’s the reason why I feel a little Hot on my Tits bout this.  As much as moms out there support one another in breastfeeding, whether it’s public, private, discreet, pumped milk, donor milk or whatever, there is not much mention of supporting those moms who feed their babies formula.  When moms talk about it, they make it seem like it is the last resort, and that you are hurting your child by making this choice.

And I find that really fucking frustrating.

How is it that my doctor is supportive of my choice and even confirmed that nutritionally formula is almost the same as breastmilk these days, and yet all these moms out there can make me feel like such shit about it?

And not even directly.  It’s comments like “I broke down and gave him a bottle in the end” after listening to their baby scream in hunger for hours when their milk was drying up that do it.  As if letting them suffer because formula is poison is an awesome parenting choice too.

A generation ago, it was really common to be bottle fed.  It’s not like we all turned out to be moronic monsters.  Or did we?

Anyway.  I support breastfeeding moms. I am envious of that ability.   I applaud those who try hard and find success.  I support the choices that we all make in order to care of our babies, but also ourselves.  If you are trying to breastfeed and it’s not working for whatever reason, it shouldn’t feel like a failure.  And if it does, I think it’s time to stop, because that’s SELF CARE.  And we, as mothers, tend to be martyrs sometimes.

But you know that saying?  “If Momma ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy”?

If you aren’t taking care of yourself, you’re not doing your baby any good either.

So yeah.  World Breastfeeding Week.  How about World I Love My Child Week?  How about World Women Supporting Women No Matter How They Feed Their Baby?

I just wish that sometimes, we knew how to be supportive of one thing without demonizing another.

And yes, I am a little jealous of the breastfeeders out there.  I missed out on something special with my children.  And if you think it’s convenient to have to make bottles all the time and plan how many to take to the park, think again.  I wish I had the luxury of unbuttoning my shirt and providing for my kid.  But I don’t.  So please, please, please, be as respectful of MY feelings and right to do what what’s best for my child as you are all expecting the rest of us to do for you.

Rant over.